Baby, It’s Cold Outside! Blog Hop

Welcome to my stop in the Baby, It’s Cold Outside! Blog Hop!

JustRomance.me Bloghops

It is definitely cold outside today! We had a few days of sunny weather but then it dipped again. Burrr!

As I huddled under my blanket in front of the fireplace, I started thinking about all of the things that help make the winter chill more bearable. With a little effort I was able to narrow it down to my top ten. See if you agree:

  1. My favorite blanket. Actually, I have two – identical except for color. They are super soft, thick, fuzzy fleece. I’m hard pressed to think of anything snugglier.
  2. Fuzzy house shoes. Memory foam slippers covered in hot pink, shaggy fur. In the winter, I can’t wait to get home from work, kick off my heels and put these on. Instant relief!
  3. Flannel pj bottoms. I have five or six pair. Paired with a well worn tee and they’re excellent for lounging in.
  4. Fur lined boots. I don’t know who came up with these, but I thank God for them every time I have to go out in the snow or ice.
  5. Flannel lined jeans. These are great for sitting in the bleachers or on the sidelines at the kids’ games. It’s amazing how much of the cold and wind they keep out.
  6. Gas logs in the fire place. My brother installed them for me a few years ago and I love, love, love them! No firewood to chop or haul or keep termites out of. All I have to do is light the pilot light once a year then turn a knob for instant warmth.
  7. Bathroom heater. I HATE to be cold when I get out of the shower. This bad boy can turn my little bathroom into sauna in minutes. Ahhh!
  8. Cuddle socks. It’s like having my favorite blanket wrapped around my feet. Only problem is walking on the hard wood or tile floor. They’re a tad slippery.
  9. Corn/rice/bean bag neck rolls. It’s those bean bags you can toss into the microwave then lay across any muscle that aches. Great for chasing away a chill too. I put them on my feet or hold them in my lap to warm up.
  10. Hot chocolate. It’s hot. It’s chocolate. ‘Nuf said.

What would you add? Leave me a comment with your ideas.

Make sure you clicked on the hop banner so you can get registered to win prizes. And don’t forget to visit the other sites in the hop. The more sites you visit, the greater your chances of winning! There are lots of prizes! I’m giving away an electronic copy of the winner’s choice of any of my backlist books as well as a few other goodies.

To see my backlist, you can follow any of these links:

Our fabulous hop hosts will announce the winner(s) at the end-of-hop live chat on Sunday, Jan. 5th, at 7PM Eastern.

Link to the main hop page at: http://justromance.me

Stay warm!!

68 thoughts on “Baby, It’s Cold Outside! Blog Hop

  1. Michelle says:

    I live in FL, so my list includes warm blanket, flannel jammies, shorts and flip flops because our weather can change drastically overnight.

  2. It’s funny I live in southern California but pretty much everything on your list I have! I would add my electric blanket.

    Shannon

    • Dena says:

      I’ve considered an electric blanket but didn’t want to mess with the cord. There are some evennings where I wish had had invested in one though!

      • Jen : ) says:

        Hey Dena! If you put one of those fleece blankets underneath you on the bed, and then the other one on top of you, you’ll feel like you have an electric blanket. Love, love, love microfleece blankets! So very cozy! : )

      • Dena says:

        I have done that!

  3. Leigh says:

    I live in Canada so my fuzzy Shaun the Sheep slippers are what’s needed on a cold day snuggling at home!

  4. I want better insulation in my office walls! It used to be part of the garage, which has no temperature control… so even with the heat on and air being forced through the vent, it’s not warm. It loses its heat! And we writers like it HOT! :D haha. as long as it translates onto the page, anyway. ;)

    • Dena says:

      OMG – I bet you do wish for more insulation! Accck. As much as I’d appreciate the privacy, I agree – we need it hot, hot, hot! Thank God for laptops and WiFi!!!

  5. Diana Merritt says:

    When we lived in Ohio those were all on the list. Know all I worry about is where are my shorts and flip flops. Love hot and sunny all year.

  6. Lisa J says:

    I just need a warm blanket on the bed and my 85 lb living fur throw. The dog always puts off enough heat to warm me up.

    • Dena says:

      I bet he/she does! My pup has a nice cushy pillow on the floor next to my bed. I tried sleeping with her on the bed years ago, but she was a bigger bed hog than my kids ever were!

  7. jeannie platt says:

    Have to say those fuzzy socks are a must in my house… I have tons of them in different patterns and colors mostly shades of pink (only girl in house)… My boys spoil and I tend to have ice cold feet all the time so yeah those are my go to… Love your list I would add hot tea as that is my go to :)

    • Dena says:

      I’ve found myself leaning to hot tea more and more the last couple years. I found one flavor that’s awesome when I start feeling a sniffle coming on.

  8. Colleen says:

    It is very cold here in northern Illinois and we’ve had lots of snow but fortunately, no power outages. As long as I have my fleece blanket and a cup of green tea, I’m all set.

  9. As a Canadian, I LOVE fleece during the winter, especially these past few days. Glad you joined the hop and wishing you much success.

  10. Bobbie Walker says:

    Log fire, hot toddy and hot men

  11. Sonya says:

    I need my favorite pillow too.

  12. snoopyvet says:

    Fuzzy socks along with my dog Teddy, my cat Peaches

  13. Melissa Brock says:

    going to Florida. Leaving the cold snow for a week on also be down there on my bday somewhere warm. i can’t wait. At least a will be warm.
    tigerbrock42@hotmail.com

  14. Shari says:

    I have an electric lap blanket, but this year I have not used much, darn those hot flashes

  15. cahmmerritt says:

    What is it about a fireplace? I love the smell, I love the sounds of the wood sparking and spitting – it is just so relaxing and makes it so guilt free to snuggle up and ignore the world outside.

  16. bookjunky says:

    my list is the same except I love a hot cappuccino with chocolate drizzle sometimes instead of a hot chocolate (with marshmallows of course!) ;)
    bookjunky2013@yahoo.com

  17. Denise says:

    I would like to have glass in my bedroom window cause its pretty darn cold right now in Missouri were remodeling as it is and that’s just one window we didn’t get to yet grrr. Thank God for Plastic and a nice heater with a blower on it that I turn off all the time cause it runs me out of the room. But can you say ELECTRIC BILL.

  18. jennifer mathis says:

    rum and a hot man :)
    meandi09@yahoo.com

  19. bn100 says:

    a person next to you

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  20. Terri H says:

    I would never make it through the winter without my fuzzy socks!

  21. Jeana says:

    Your list was perfect! I also have my favorite blankets and fuzzy house shoes. The only other addition is my cat. Anytime I lounge, she’s right there in my lap, lounging right along with me.

  22. Colleen C. says:

    I always have wonderful smelling candles lit and my fav cuddly robe.

  23. beckeyw says:

    Someone to cuddle with and/or a book

    BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom

  24. Heather Case says:

    fuzzy socks are definately a plus for me.. I hate wearing socks to begin with but i can always throw on a pair of fuzzy ones.. I warm hoodie and some awesome sweat pants are a must for me in the winter too as well as a warm fuzzy blanket..

  25. Zeenat Mahal says:

    Hi Dena, we obviously have similar taste, not only is your blog theme identical to mine, your list is very familiar too :) I’m sure I’d love your books.

    • Dena says:

      I saw that! LOL. I thought I’d landed on my page when I got to your site! If you tell me you have reddish-brown hair too, I’m gonna have to look into our family trees!

  26. tina says:

    my slippers and my 8year old daughter, cuddling with her while watching a movie, better than any heating blanket. Of course thier always princess movies.

  27. beadcrafter says:

    Only thing you missed was warm cookies or muffins fresh from the oven. :D

    Beth

  28. Samantha H. says:

    I would add a really great book. This way when I’m under the covers I have something to read.

  29. jmesparza821 says:

    I would add gloves. I live in TX. I’m lucky it does not snow, but it does get very cold.

    jmesparza821 at gmail dot com

    • Dena says:

      If I’m going out in the cold, I definitely want gloves. I think we have a dozen pair scattered in the closet and in the pockets of my winter coats.

  30. suzlyne says:

    The bathroom heater and cuddle socks are my two favorite things in the winter time. I hate a cold bathroom!
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

  31. Great list!! I love snuggling with my doggies too. They are super warm. I also love my towel warmer in the bathroom. Nothing like a warm towel to wrap around you.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  32. Shelley Chastagner says:

    My honey. Gotta love a guy that’s willing to snuggle whenever you want.

Leave a Reply

